top of page


Diamonds are available in a variety of colors, some of which are popular (pink, blue, even yellow) .However, in a white diamond, the presence of a yellow tint will lower the price of a diamond.

The less yellow there is in a white diamond, the more it will reflect vivid color and therefore the higher its value. At AVADIAM, each diamond has received a color note by the GIA / HRD / IGI in a visualization environment specially designed to eliminate the color of the surrounding surfaces as well as the light source itself. This allows you to accurately measure the color of the diamond.

Minor differences in diamond color detected in this environment are very difficult, if not impossible to detect in a normal environment. The diamond industry has adopted the GIA / HRD / IGI diamond color scale. Almost all diamonds sold today are valued using the GIA / HRD / IGI color scale.
Below is the color scale for diamonds.

The GIA classifies diamonds on a scale from D (colorless) to Z (light color).

All DZ diamonds are considered white, even if they contain different degrees of color.

Real fancy color diamonds (Fancy colors, such as yellows, pinks and blues) are classified on a separate color scale.

Clarity / quality of the diamond

Clarity / quality of the diamond
The clarity of the diamond refers to the absence of inclusions and defects.
Natural diamonds are the result of carbon exposed to enormous heat and pressure deep within the earth.

This process can result in a variety of internal characteristics called "inclusions" and external characteristics called "imperfections".

Assessing the clarity / quality of the diamond involves determining the number, size, relief, nature and position of these features, as well as how these affect the general appearance of the stone.

The GIA diamond clarity scale includes 6 categories, some of which are divided, for a total of 11 specific grades.

1) Flawless (FL) No inclusions and no visible defects under 10x magnification (microscope)

2) IF No inclusion visible under 10x magnification (microscope)

3) Very, very slightly included (VVS1 and VVS2) Inclusions so light that they are difficult to see for a qualified expert under 10x magnification (microscope)

4) Very slightly included (VS1 and VS2) The inclusions are observed with an effort under a magnification of 10x, but can be characterized as minor.

5) Slightly included (SI1 and SI2) The inclusions are visible under a magnification of 10x (microscope)

6) Included (I1, I2 and I3) The inclusions are evident at 10x magnification, which can affect transparency and shine and are often visible to the naked eye.

bottom of page